The Center for African Area Studies (CAAS) established the Africa Office in Addis Ababa, the capital of Ethiopia, in collaboration with the Kyoto University Africa Unit, which is composed of 10 graduate schools and research institutes in Kyoto University. The CAAS also manages and operates field stations in six locations in Africa (Kenya, Tanzania, Zambia, Namibia, Cameroon, and Niger) as bases for field research, in cooperation with the Graduate School of Asian and African Area Studies (ASAFAS), Kyoto University.

The field stations were established by the project of 21st Century Center of Excellence (COE) Program “Aiming for COE of Integrated Area Studies” (2002-2006) and were operated with the cooperation of the Global COE Program “In Search of Sustainable Humanosphere in Asia and Africa” (2007-2011). They have since been operated by CAAS and are used by graduate students and researchers from Kyoto University, including ASAFAS graduate students.

The Kyoto University Africa Office is located at Addis Ababa University, and functions as a base for research, education, and activities for international contribution in Africa, as well as for dissemination of research results, public relations activities, and as a contact point for international students. The field stations are used to promote education and research based on fieldwork, to organize seminars and workshops, and to strengthen cooperation with local research institutions.

Africa Office (Addis Ababa, Ethiopia)

Cameroon Field Station (Cameroon)

Nairobi Field Station (Kenya)

Tanzania Field Station (Tanzania)

Zambia Field Station (Zambia)

Namibia Field Station (Namibia)

Niger Field Station (Republic of Niger)